Sorry, we haven’t put one of these up for a while, but the OAE have been just too darned busy!

This week, we speak to Projects Manager, Megan Russell:

Megan RussellWhat’s your role in the OAE office? Not sure if I can answer this one ‘quickly’! My job covers so many different areas – booking flights, accommodation and sorting touring logistics, fixing players, booking rehearsal venues, managing rehearsals, managing concerts, touring, doing airport check-ins, running the OAE Experience scheme for young players, organising auditions, unjamming the photocopier as I sit right next to it!

What does your typical day involve?

I don’t think there is such a thing as a typical day in the projects team. Normally I’ll get to work first thing and look over my emails, if I’m in the office, I’ll spend the rest of the day working on either last minute preparations for a current project, or forward planning future projects. Sometimes I am out and about at meetings, or managing rehearsals which are all over London and take place at all hours of the day.

Which mobile number do you call the most?

Sadly, I think last time I checked, it was someone in the office! Probably Philippa, our Orchestra Manager as she is out and about so much.

What – or where – is perfection?

I’ve thought about this one for a while and I really don’t know what the answer is.

Which living person do you most admire (and why)?

My Grandma. She is 96 years old. She has worked hard all her life to provide for her family, has a great sense of humour and still lives on her own. I’m sure there are lots of things we could all learn from her.

What other talent or skill would you like to possess?

I would like to be able to teletransport myself (am I allowed to pick an imaginary talent?!) so that I could go and visit my relatives in Australia more easily.

What do you fear the most? 

Losing a limb.

What is the most important lesson life has taught you?

Friends are really important – they are the people who will keep you going through the tough times and who will love to share the great times with you. But don’t take them for granted, you have to work hard to keep up a good friendship.

What was the first album you ever bought?

Under the Bridge by Ace of Base.

What is the most played piece of music on your MP3 player or in your CD collection?

Currently – Uprising by Muse.

Which OAE concert are you most looking forward to in 2011-2012?

I’ve just spent five minutes looking at the list and I still can’t choose one! I can narrow it down to about 6…

What’s been the highlight of your time at OAE so far?

Listening to the OAE play Beethoven Symphony No.5 in New York with Iván Fischer, don’t think I have ever heard anything so captivating.