Katia and Marielle Labèque

For the latest in our Speed Interview series we catch up with Katia Labèque (pictured on the left), who, together with her sister Marielle, is currently performing on tour with us and Sir Simon Rattle.

What/when was your big breakthrough?
I suppose when our first CD of Rhapsodie in Blue went gold in few months. It did focus the attention of the people on us and also on the repertoire we were playing.

What do you fear the most?
Death of the people we love

Which mobile number do you call the most?
I don’t call often because I prefer the computer.

What – or where – is perfection?
Thank God perfection does not exist…that gives each of us the possibility to try to reach it.

Who is your favourite hero from fiction (book/comic/film/opera) – and why?
Bartleby: “I would prefer not to…” If I really have to explain I see him as an artist who refuses to compromise his art, who refuses to conform to the model of the society he lives in…

What’s your favourite ritual?
No ritual that I can think of…

Which living person do you most admire (and why)?
My sister, because she is the incarnation of “good” and she is so human.

What other talent or skill would you like to possess?
To play rock guitar

What is the most important lesson life has taught you?
Never explain, and also we are just “passing by”- eventually we know that we will not remain on this earth forever, so just enjoy each moment of what is happening now.

What is the most played piece of music on your MP3 player or in your CD collection?
I play random pieces of music!

What’s the best thing about working with the OAE?
We don’t know yet as it is the first time we’ve worked with them but we are very happy and they are a fantastic group of musicians.

