As we mentioned in our last post, we’re taking our Night Shift to the Village Underground, Shoreditch, on Friday 24 June – a building played in by the Klaxons, Jarvis Cocker and The XX. It should be a fab night and details are available from our Night Shift website.  The full programme will be performed before this on 4 June at the Queen Elizabeth Hall- more details here. In the meantime, why not have a read of our speed interview with the soprano Elin Manahan Thomas who’ll be singing some glorious Handel arias on both nights:

What/when was your big breakthrough?

Stepping in on the day for the ill soloist on a Monteverdi Choir tour to sing the Messiah. Nerve-wracking and brilliant.Elin Manahan Thomas

What do you fear the most? 

Flying. Really not helpful when you’re a travelling musician.

Which mobile number do you call the most?

My husband’s. A hundred times more so, now that we have a baby boy and every day feels like a big round of decisions.

What – or where – is perfection?

Home, on the sofa, bags unpacked.

Who is your favourite hero from fiction (book/comic/film/opera) – and why?

Frodo Baggins. I’d have given in to that ring by the end of book one!

What’s your favourite ritual?

Cleaning my make-up off after a concert, coming back to Me again.

Which living person do you most admire (and why)?

My mum. She inspires me every day and is always, always there for me.

What other talent or skill would you like to possess?

I wish I could play the piano. Should’ve stuck at it as a child.

What is the most important lesson life has taught you?

There’s a surprise around every corner so don’t get too wound up about the present moment. Actually I think it’s my husband who’s really taught me that!

What is the most played piece of music on your MP3 player or in your CD collection?

It ought to be classical but actually it’s Billy Joel, Always a Woman.

What’s the best thing about working with the OAE?

The warm welcome, the familial atmosphere and the world-class musicianship. It’s a huge thrill to stand and work among them, I always have to pinch myself!