Artur PizarroWe’re currently performing Beethoven’s 4th Piano Concerto with soloist Artur Pizarro – with him making his period instrument debut with us. Catch it at the Queen Elizabeth Hall in London tomorrow – and in the mean time have a read of his Speed Interview with us:

What/when was your big breakthrough?
Well, I’ve been playing the piano all my life and always with the focus on a career as a soloist so the process has been long and gradual but if I have to highlight a moment it would definitely be winning the Leeds Piano Competition in 1990. I was just back in Leeds to play for Dame Fanny Waterman’s 90th birthday party and it was amazing to see all the friendly faces who have supported me in the last two decades! An amazing experience!

What do you fear the most?
Stupidity and cruelty, point blank!!!

Which mobile number do you call the most?
My manager Tom Croxon, who else??

What – or where – is perfection?
Watching the sun rise over the Caribbean , from the top deck of a cruise ship and knowing I don’t have a concert or recital for a few weeks yet!

Who is your favourite hero from fiction (book/comic/film/opera) – and why?
Michel Vaillant from the Bande dessinée series in France. I am a bit of a petrol head…

What’s your favourite ritual?
The walk from the hotel to the beach on holiday! Has a very cleansing effect on me.

Which living person do you most admire (and why)?
Joanna Lumley for the beautiful way she ages, for her generosity, humility, elegance, that sexy voice with that amazing accent, for her integrity and mostly for the way she has managed to always keep her sense of wonderment alive!

What other talent or skill would you like to possess?
Infinite patience…

What is the most important lesson life has taught you?
Whatever life throws at you, smile, be polite, be grateful and mean it!

What is the most played piece of music on your MP3 player or in your CD collection?
Mina Mazzini singing “Insieme” a fabulous Italian song. Watch it on YouTube!

What’s the best thing about working with the OAE?
Don’t know yet as this is my début with them! But ask me again when I get invited back! (Praying and crossing fingers at the same time!)

