Last week’s tour took us to a venue entirely new to the OAE, Sheffield’s City Hall. After the intimacy of the Queen Elizabeth Hall and the Theatre by the Lake in Keswick (in the latter we could barely squeeze onto the stage!), the huge expanse of the City Hall, which seats over 2000, came as a bit of a shock! It really is an amazing auditorium, with many players reaction as they walked onto the stage for the first time being: wow. During the rehearsal I got a bit snap-happy, so here are some pictures of the auditorium and Orchestra in rehearsal.

The auditorium is a perfect oval – I’m not sure I have ever been in an oval hall before. It seemed to have some unusual acoustic properties – at some points it felt like the horns were sitting right next to me, playing into my ear! You can find out more about this beautiful hall on their website.

Oh, and we had an unusual start to the concert too. More on that next time.

William Norris, Communications Director

