I am writing this on my final day here at the OAE. Firstly I should just explain the title ….on my second day here I got to accompany Megan to Glyndebourne to see Don Giovanni conducted by Vlad, and tonight on my last day is the fantastic concert in the RFH of Wagner, Liszt and Mahler again conducted by Vlad.

I have enjoyed my time here immensely, I was applying to the internship to find out all about ‘orchestra managing’, but have come away with knowledge about stage management, touring, visas, franking machines, rehearsals, lit stands, technical riders, Donor strategy, fixing, programming, recording, marketing, press interviews, the BBC, printing labels, playing the violin, making teas, folding music stands, running rehearsals, ordering bouquets, eating chocolates, evacuating Kings Place, and most of all un-jamming the photocopier.

I am ashamed to admit I didn’t understand what ‘Development’ meant before I started here, but have now learnt all about how orchestras raise money and found a huge respect for the OAE’s team and for just how hard they work. I’ve also been attending the string club every Monday afternoon, which was the perfect way to just see a tiny segment of the work done by Cherry and the education team, which as we all know nurtures the young musicians of future and brings music to all kinds of communities.

I have made a few trips out to other organisations in the last few months and in speaking to other orchestras it dawned on me that in the world of orchestral marketing the “Communications” team at the OAE are quite special. I think a lot of the OAE’s uniqueness comes from its stellar artistic quality AND its style and presence in the world of classical music.

I’m not going to pick highlights of my time here, as each concert and each experience here has meant a lot to me in different ways, but I do want to mention the people. The musicians and the office staff are all wonderful people. Talented, full of creativity and ideas and are so dedicated to making the OAE the best that it can be. I feel really honoured to have been able to work here the last 6 months, and I really look forward to coming to all the wonderful concerts in the future!

All the best,

Ingrid, Graduate Intern