Dear All

I wanted to say a huge thank you to you all for the last five fantastic years.  As you may know I have been appointed Development Director of Future Talent and take up post there in the New Year.  I am excited about my new role but I can hardly believe that I am leaving the OAE.

I feel I have “grown up” as a fundraiser at the OAE.  I came here five years ago with a masters degree and a few lucky gifts raised but it is here that I have leant how to look after donors, to grow someone’s support and most importantly how to hold your breath and hope all goes how you planned.

I leave here with some fantastic musical memories.  The Ian Bostridge Southbank Handel aria concert in 2007 has to be one of my favourite concerts seconded only by the amazing St Matthew Passion at Glyndebourne which I loved.  Battling through a snow storm with the band in Washington DC to a dining club after the Library of Congress concert was probably not my best moment of organisation but it was certainly memorable.  Watching Steve Thomas and Will Norris mimicking the dance in Julius Cesare on the lawn of Glyndebourne will always make me laugh. 

I leant how to be a better viola player by just watching Netty Isserlis play and I even realised that I liked Elgar and Mahler after hearing the OAE play it (although I can barely admit it in public).

The last five years has been an amazing personal journey for me too.  I met my husband, Jason, who proposed after the dress rehearsal of Cenerentola at Glyndebourne in 2007.  And then of course, we welcomed our son, Saxon, to our family in 2009.

I know that I will never get over the OAE.  Thank you all and see you at concerts soon!

Nicolette

Nicolette Shaw, Development Manager

(Editors note: I did ask Nicolette for a picture to go with this, but she said she would only have one if it was me doing the Julius Cesare dance. I politely declined…)