This week, we speak to Natasha Stehr in the OAE office…

What’s your role in the OAE office?Tasha

Marketing and Press Officer

What does your typical day involve?

I usually start my day looking through the previous day’s papers, then check my work emails.  The rest of the day comprises of: updating our social networking sites and website, preparing programmes for the new season, compiling articles for our various newsletters/blog, updating our mailing list/database, writing and sending press releases, researching new media and community websites, talking to our student reps and finding new ways to attract a younger audience to our events.  Over the next two months, I’ll be going to all the London uni freshers fayres to promote our student scheme- time consuming but a lot of fun, plus I get to pick up a lot of freebies!

Which mobile number do you call the most?

Either home or my boyfriend’s mobile.

What – or where – is perfection?

A day off, sitting in my garden (even though I don’t have one yet), sipping on a Raspberry Mojito, reading a really good book, then having friends and family round for a BBQ.

Who is your favourite hero from fiction (book/comic/film/opera) – and why?

I always like a flawed hero- there’s an American crime series called Dexter, and the guy who plays the lead is definitely flawed, you’ll have to watch it to see what I mean!

What other talent or skill would you like to possess?

I’d love to be able to afford both piano and singing lessons.

What do you fear the most?

Quad bikes (I tried to conquer my fear on holiday by going on one, but fell off twice, gaining several bruises/grazes and proving that they are nasty scary machines!)

What is the most important lesson life has taught you?

To appreciate how important friends and family are and to spend as much time with them as possible.

What was the first album you ever bought?

I’m embarrassed to say, but it was the Spice Girls first album ‘Spice.’ (blush)

What is the most played piece of music on your MP3 player or in your CD collection?

At the moment, Mumford and Sons’ album.

Which OAE concert are you most looking forward to in 2010-2011?

Think it’s got to be the 21 January 2011 concert with Vladimir Jurowski- I can’t wait to see what the OAE do with a bit of Mahler and Liszt!

What’s been the highlight of your time at OAE so far?

It would probably have to be seeing Don Giovanni at Glyndebourne this summer- beautiful location, fantastic music and a great OAE picnic in the interval- bliss!

