This week, continuing our quick questions with the OAE office team, we speak to Natalie Chivers…

What’s your role in the OAE office?Natalie

Education Projects Manager

What does your typical day involve?

Hard question for me! I never know. It could be working at my computer booking players and evaluating or jumping around a school hall with children performing something from an opera or talking to a string club parent about their child’s progress. My job is a big mixture of different things so there’s never a typical day.

Which mobile number do you call the most?

Joe’s, my boyfriend. Even though I’ve just moved in with him (gush) I still seem to ring him the most.

What – or where – is perfection?

A bath and freshly cleaned sheets followed by a lie-in. Simple pleasures.

Who is your favourite hero from fiction (book/comic/film/opera) – and why?

I’m really stuck on this question but one of my favourite characters is Jeff ‘The Dude’ from the Big Lebowski. He’s definitely not a hero but he is very funny and horizontally breezes through life. I’d be like that if I could.

Which living person do you most admire (and why)?

It may be a cliché but it has to be my Nana. She’s 96 and is the most fascinating and, for her age, liberal person ever. She can’t see a thing but her mind is all there and she tells the best stories from hers and her parents’ lives. We’re recording her memoirs at the moment.

What other talent or skill would you like to possess?

I’d like to be fluent in another language. I’m embarrassed by myself when I go away anywhere.

What do you fear the most?

Something bad happening to anyone I love.

What is the most important lesson life has taught you?

That you’re never too old to discover the answer to this question!

What was the first album you ever bought?

Something by Kylie Minogue. She had a big black hat on the cover.

What is the most played piece of music on your MP3 player or in your CD collection?

At the moment it’s Pneumonia by Bjork. I’m obsessed.

Which OAE concert are you most looking forward to in 2010-2011?

I know this is a popular one but the Wagner, Mahler, Liszt concert in January. It’s always great when the OAE does something big and the last one (Rattle Wagner Prom) was one of the best OAE concerts I’ve seen so far.

What’s been the highlight of your time at OAE so far?

The culmination of the Street Genius Tchaikovsky project in Oct 2008. It was also the most stressful time of my life at the OAE so far! We had 5 teenagers from Lambeth curate their own pre-concert event at the RFH. They decided to do a dance based remix of Tchaikovsky’s Romeo and Juliet overture involving at least 15 of their street dancing friends. Needless to say there were more than a few tantrums, sulks and VERY late arrivals from the students; consequently a great deal of mild panic attacks for me. They performed brilliantly in the end and it was amazing.