Eduardo is the Melgaard OAE Young Conductor for 2009-2010, and makes his public debut with the OAE at The Night Shift next Tuesday. We asked him to answer a few quick questions for us…

What do you fear the most?
Not to use my life as much as I can and must.

Which mobile number do you call the most?Eduardo Portal
I tend not to call mobile numbers. They are always problematic. Landlines are my favourites.

What – or where – is perfection?
Only God is perfect.

Who is your favourite hero from fiction (book/comic/film/opera) – and why?
Mr Incredible; he makes my fantasy fly.

What’s your favourite ritual?
To have breakfast in the mornings.

Which living person do you most admire (and why)?
So many, I couldn’t tell one. Those who understand life.

What other talent or skill would you like to possess?
To be more delicate.

Tell us about a special memory you have of Southbank Centre (Royal Festival Hall/Queen Elizabeth Hall/Purcell Room/Hayward Gallery)?
OAE and Ivan Fischer at the RFH doing Beethoven 1, 8 and FIVE!!!

What’s your favourite website?
The newspaper website.

If you could programme your ideal show, which artists (living or dead) would you bring together?
David Oistrakh, Fritz Kreisler and Jacqueline du Pré.

What is the most important lesson life has taught you?
That this life is only a step towards another life.

What is the most played piece of music on your MP3 player or in your CD collection?
Hmmm, I do not really play much music like that, luckily I listen to so much live music.

