I was looking forward to my first lie-in for weeks after a busy month of rehearsals, concerts, travelling and teaching but it was not to be. Yesterday we arrived in Brussels for the first concert of the European tour and I found on unpacking my double bass that my lovely old English instrument, dating from the mid 18th century, had taken umbrage to the cold and had pinged open. The constant changes between the extreme temperatures of hot concert halls and cold vehicles had finally taken it’s toll. The wood had shrunk and the glue couldn’t take the pressure. Luckily I could still play without it rattling (no pun intended) so it made it through last night’s, very successful, concert. At 9 o’clock this morning I was to be found waiting outside the most unusual repair shop I’ve ever seen. A Luthier, cafe and art gallery all in one. As I write this several hours later, players are warming up for the rehearsal but my bass is still drying in the workshop. He promises it will be ready in time for the concert…

Cecelia Bruggemeyer, Double Bass

The Luthier/cafe/art gallery

The Luthier/cafe/art gallery

Under repair

Under repair

