Lots of excitement today here at our HQ, Kings Place, as we had our first rehearsals for our concerts with Sir Simon Rattle next week.

The ‘Schumann’ project has been on schedules for years now – certainly ever since I started here 4 years ago, so its exciting to hear it come to fruition. I sat in the rehearsal for the first thirty minutes, and even on a first run though it sounded pretty damn exciting – I got the ‘tingle’ factor! I was wondering while I sat there why Schumann’s symphonies aren’t better known – they started with the second symphony and it’s really good stuff, very stirring.

I managed to snatch a few pics before they started rehearsing – not that great quality i’m afraid, but I’ll try and get some more at the evening rehearsal. Don’t forget to check back here for more news during the tour.

If you’re curious to find out what the Schumann symphonies sound like you can here soundclips here and here.

Will, Marketing Director

